Monday, 23 March 2026

Vs Yokohama F Marinos (home-ish) 22/3/26 J League East match 8

 


Kawasaki Frontale 0 - 5 Yokohama F Marinos

 
Please excuse me for keeping this brief. I’m slightly surprised I’m even bothering writing anything when a couple of puking emojis would probably tell the story pretty clearly. So shit was this match, I have hardly any notes and I have no photos of the actual football. I also have no desire to write this, so I’m going to dispose of most of the usual subtitles.


1st half -

Pretty shit first half which started going wrong as soon as the VAR decision was being considered. Ref giving them absolutely everything. Marcinho must be the best dribbler in the league and maybe the worst passer. As usual, plenty of pointless possession and maybe zero good chances. Unbelievable amount of offsides. 


2nd half -

Fuck that.


Good day -

No, it wasn’t. 



Bad day -


Too many to mention really. And worryingly three players who’ve done pretty well so far this season totally fell to pieces in this match. Matsunagane was the senior centre back in the pairing, which is a bit of a crazy thing to say. He thought he’d scored, it was ruled out, and things went steadily downhill from there. Broderson flapped on quite a few occasions. I don’t know if this is because the defence let him down. From miles away in the stands it looked like he was more at fault though which is absolutely the opposite of every game so far this season. Equally though, he did prevent them from reaching double figures which at one stage looked like it could easily happen. Maruyama came on and was very quickly at fault for two goals. Not great for him and not great for the tactical genius who made that change. The weird thing is, aside from these three, no one else really stood out as being particularly bad. Well apart from the manager maybe as the main takeaway from our play was that it was an absolute waste of time and was absolutely pointless. We never looked like we’d score. Even when we had a decent chance we just rolled the ball to their keeper. Individual errors were the reason we conceded so many. The reason we created absolutely nothing and had no response to constantly conceding is something more like collective apathy and that has got to go down to Hasebe. I’ve tried to give him the benefit of the doubt but it’s difficult to come away from this game not thinking that he hasn’t got a clue what he’s doing. We’re unbelievably inconsistent when it comes to results, but perhaps quite consistent in that we’re always pretty dull, (but sometimes get lucky). I’m not sure ‘looking forward to’ is the right phrase, but I am certain interested to hear his post match comments. They’re not up on the website yet. In previous shitty performances I’ve been surprised how he’s apparently seen quite a lot of positives in our stodgy and ineffective play. I don’t think even he can say that after this match. (I’ve read them now, and astonishingly, he pretty much did). And although, once again, we’re stacking up the injuries, there surely was a safer option at centre back than giving someone his debut who joined from the youth team last year and partnering him with someone who hasn’t really played many more games for us than Hayashi has.  And playing that ‘senior’ player on the side of defence that means he is predominantly on his weaker foot. Add to this the fact that the attacking instructions seemed to be something along the lines of the best form of attack being to play the ball backwards towards our defence as often as possible. Hmmmm. Somewhat amusingly, at the end of the game I think the only centre back who wasn’t at fault for at least one goal was Hayashi. But presumably he’ll also be suffering the mental destruction that seems to be par for the course when we inexplicably play young centre backs in games we fuck up against YFM.

Any other business - 

- Miura did a bit better in this match which suggests that Hasebe did the right thing by finally dropping him for a game. Sadly that was about the only right thing he did. 

- Late on in the game there was the joyful announcement on the big screen of the 50000+ attendance being the biggest ever home attendance in the club’s history. At the same time it felt like we could also be heading for the worst result in our history too. It’s a bit of a shame because the club had put a lot of effort into making the day a success and now anyone is going to remember is that we got absolutely thumped and created nothing on our big day at the national stadium. Probably pIenty of trauma there for some players. I can’t imagine any neutrals would have got turned on to Frontale after attending this unless they were ultra masochistic. I suppose though that there weren’t the usual massive amount of free tickets given away so maybe there weren’t many neutrals attending anyway. 

- If you want to see the absolute encapsulation of our performance in this match, check Wakizaka’s corner at 68:38. Guess we’ll blame the pitch, right? Maybe we should blame the pitch for the tactics and substitutions too.



WOW! -


Sounds a lot like sour grapes but the ref Ikeuchi, who is resolutely one of the worst in the league was an absolute shithead in this match giving almost every decision in the first a half to them. Even with a decent ref Hasebe would probably have contrived to have got us walloped but at least it wouldn’t have been as irritating an experience as seeing Ikeuchi consistently cock everything up. He absolutely deserves this title. Although we were so bad in the second half, conceding from pretty much every attack, that even Ikeuchi’s uselessness doesn’t linger in the memory. 


Utterly humiliating. The one game many fans desperately wanted to win in this pointless mini season and instead we allowed our most hated rivals to score only two fewer goals than they had scored in the seven previous games they’d played this season. They were averaging a goal a game until they come up against us. Every time they play us they seem to raise their game, no matter how badly their season is going. Every time we play them we seem to not really care. Thankfully we don’t have a game midweek, which might give some people a chance to recover. Seems like Taniguchi is maybe seriously injured. Sasaki is injured. Uremovic hasn’t had a look in at all this year and given that he wasn’t even in the squad for this match it might mean that he’s got injured too. And don’t forget that Maruyama was apparently not 100% fit (perhaps explaining his errors). Even when we have loads of centre backs it seems that we can manufacture a central defensive injury crisis, doesn’t it? But obviously people make mistakes. It’s a shame so many people made so many in one game though. But at the same time even though we conceded five, I feel like the bigger worry is that we created fuck all again and never looked like scoring. Marcinho dribbling through numerous defenders across the YFM box and then passing gently to their keeper was about as dangerous as we got. I speculated that after the shitty Kashima game there might have been a clear the air bust up. God knows what needs to happen now. Maybe burn the entire club to the ground and start again in the local leagues. Fuck me this was awful. And the next ‘fun’ we have is Machida away. Fucking hell, things are grim. I have to work on the morning of that game, quite a long way from Machida, so maybe if I decide to walk to the stadium straight from work I might be able to arrive late enough to see only the teams lining up after the final whistle, thereby saving myself the stress and frustration of watching another utterly shit game like this. If Hasebe isn’t skating on thin ice after this, he really should be. His apparent lack of ideas and fear of taking any kind of action has irritated in previous fixtures but it really pushed me over the edge in this match. When the only positive things you can say about the match relate to the fun things that went on before kick off and at half time you know we’re in trouble. And the fact that there was a lot of booing at the end of the match, (any booing is an extremely rare thing at Frontale), shows that it’s not only pessimistic me who’s thinking that this all seems pretty gutless and utterly awful right now. 
 
Team 

GK 49. Svend BRODERSEN
DF 29. YAMAHARA Reon
DF 3. TANIGUCHI Hiroto
DF 32. HAYASHI Shunsuke
DF 2. MATSUNAGANE Yuto
DF 13. MIURA Sota
MF 8. TACHIBANADA Kento 
MF 6. YAMAMOTO Yuki
MF 18. KONNO Kazuya
MF 14. WAKIZAKA Yasuto 
MF 23. MARCINHO
FW 9. ERISON

Subs

GK 33. LEE Keun-Hyeong
FW 11. KOBAYASHI Yu (on for TACHIBANADA 76')
MF 17. ITO Tatsuya (on for MARCINHO 61')
MF 19. KAWAHARA So (on for TACHIBANADA 60')
MF 24. MIYAGI Ten
DF 28. MARUYAMA Yuichi (on for HAYASHI 61')
DF 30. NODA Hiroto
MF 41. IENAGA Akihiro (on for KONNO 61')
FW 91. Lazar ROMANIC (on for ERISON 76')

Man of the match

...
 
Goals

TANIMURA (YFM) 30' 0-1
AMANO (YFM) 53' 0-2
AMANO (YFM) 62' 0-3
YURI ARAUJO (YFM) 72' 0-4
QUINONES (YFM) 78' 0-5


Highlights
 
 

No comments:

Post a Comment